ScummVM logo Forum Index - ScummVM website - Contact us - Buy Supported Games: GOG.com Rules - Search - Register - Login curved edge
Folder Forum Index > PlayStation 2 Port > scummvm.ini problem Goto page Previous  1, 2
scummvm.ini problem
  Author    Thread Reply to topic
MrPunchy



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 125
 

quote:
Originally posted by mac_es
In PS2 you can have the scummvm.ini in the memory card or in the dvd itself.

In this port, scummvm looks for scummvm.ini in the dvd. If it finds it it uses it, if no it will create one in memory card.

He is saying that if he puts the scummvm.ini in the dvd it doesn't work. If he doesn't put the scummvm.ini in the dvd and scummvm creates one in the memory card works.

He said that had changed something in the scummvm.ini, if you burn it whithout modifying it works?


No, don't work. T_T
 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:01 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
MrPunchy



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 125
 

I Think the problem is not in the ini file.
I think the problem is a bug of the scummvm.

or not?

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 12:46 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
PsYcO
Got 2 warnings


Joined: 24 Dec 2006
Posts: 513
Location: UK, Enfield
 

quote:
Originally posted by MrPunchy
quote:
Originally posted by mac_es
In PS2 you can have the scummvm.ini in the memory card or in the dvd itself.

In this port, scummvm looks for scummvm.ini in the dvd. If it finds it it uses it, if no it will create one in memory card.

He is saying that if he puts the scummvm.ini in the dvd it doesn't work. If he doesn't put the scummvm.ini in the dvd and scummvm creates one in the memory card works.

He said that had changed something in the scummvm.ini, if you burn it whithout modifying it works?


No, don't work. T_T


so what do you meen when you said...

quote:
Originally posted by MrPunchy
dvd without the ini file: Work well.


your sending very mixed signals mate.
 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 12:55 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
MrPunchy



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 125
 

whithout modifying the file is not the same than whithout the file.

You know about the problem?
you confusing me, the other people know what i talking about.

please if you haven't idea don't talk in the post.

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 1:07 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
PsYcO
Got 2 warnings


Joined: 24 Dec 2006
Posts: 513
Location: UK, Enfield
 

quote:
Originally posted by MrPunchy
you confusing me, the other people know what i talking about.


quote:
Originally posted by MrPunchy
quote:
Originally posted by mac_es
He said that had changed something in the scummvm.ini, if you burn it whithout modifying it works?


No, don't work. T_T


doesn't look like it to me

fyi, i knew about the dvd creating an ini if it didn't exist... witch seems like the only thing thats a known thing in this thread

EDIT: is the problem that you want the ini to work from the DVD, but it will only work from the memory card?
 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:26 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
MrPunchy



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 125
 

Yes.

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 4:13 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
PsYcO
Got 2 warnings


Joined: 24 Dec 2006
Posts: 513
Location: UK, Enfield
 

quote:
Originally posted by MrPunchy
Yes.


is there anyway you can pull the ini of the ps2 memory card?

btw witch version are you running? asuming that its the latest version, a bug like this would have be rectified ages ago, so it cant be a bug, nor the ini's fault... you must have done something wrong... hmmm... give me a while to think, ill get back to you.

EDIT: well the latest version's link seems to be broken, but ive found a mirror here
try again with that, maybe it wasn't supported by the one on scummvm's homepage *shrug*

one last thing, i read that you can hook up a HDD to your ps2 for scummvm, that way you could easily read files tweak them and try again without using loads of discs. just a thought
 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 4:43 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
MrPunchy



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 125
 

quote:
Originally posted by PsYcO
quote:
Originally posted by MrPunchy
Yes.


btw witch version are you running? asuming that its the latest version, a bug like this would have be rectified ages ago.



Well, in 0.9.0 version when i push "quit" button on a game the scummvm back to main menu, and in 0.9.1 when i push the "quit" button the scummvm crash...

the bug are back

the scummvm.ini problem is a bug of the 0.9.1
 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 6:26 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
PsYcO
Got 2 warnings


Joined: 24 Dec 2006
Posts: 513
Location: UK, Enfield
 

0.9.1 on scummvm website is 3mb

0.9.1 RC1(i dont know if the 'RC1' bit meens anything else or if its a differant version all together) on filefront.com is 3.1mb

so you know, whatever...

what do you meen the bug is back? its sounds like the only reason why it 'bugs' is a time sensitive thing... meaning that the dvd is degrading?

as it says here there are known problems with low grade discs

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:31 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
MrPunchy



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 125
 

quote:
Originally posted by PsYcO
0.9.1 on scummvm website is 3mb

0.9.1 RC1(i dont know if the 'RC1' bit meens anything else or if its a differant version all together) on filefront.com is 3.1mb

so you know, whatever...

what do you meen the bug is back? its sounds like the only reason why it 'bugs' is a time sensitive thing... meaning that the dvd is degrading?

as it says here there are known problems with low grade discs


sorry but the scummvm 0.9.1 rc1 on filefront.com is older than the scummvm 0.9.1 on scummvm website
 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:14 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
mac_es



Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 99
 

OK,

This may be a bug in this port, as it doesn't work whithout moidfying the file. Have you filled a bug report?

The story about the ini file, started a long time ago. First there was an unofficial port for ps2, after that lavospawn made a great work creating the port from scratch using 'legal' sdks.

In the first port the scummvm.ini file was in the dvd but lavospawn's port put it in the memory card. Though this is more powerfull, imho is better to put the scummvm.ini preconfigured in the dvd so you don't have to add the games manually, or if you have more than one you will get an .ini file whith all the games.

I asked in the forum if it would be possible to add the first port's feature to this port. He replied that yes and he do it.

So MrPunchy is trying whith the latest version available (the 0.X.0 needs a work on it), but if this is a bug it is only a bug in this port.

Unfortunately I hadn't tried it myself because in this port there is no virtual keyboard available so I can't play Indy3.

 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:23 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
MrPunchy



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 125
 

quote:
Originally posted by mac_es
OK,

This may be a bug in this port, as it doesn't work whithout moidfying the file. Have you filled a bug report?



No, I don't know how to make it. (And if is in english...)
 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:43 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
PsYcO
Got 2 warnings


Joined: 24 Dec 2006
Posts: 513
Location: UK, Enfield
 

quote:
Originally posted by MrPunchy
quote:
Originally posted by mac_es
OK,

This may be a bug in this port, as it doesn't work whithout moidfying the file. Have you filled a bug report?



No, I don't know how to make it. (And if is in english...)


i think this is the site, http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?group_id=37116&atid=418820 though, i dont know if its bug tracker for the only pc's version of scummvm
 Reply with quote  
Post Thu Jul 12, 2007 9:31 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
MrPunchy



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 125
 

quote:
Originally posted by PsYcO

i think this is the site, http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?group_id=37116&atid=418820 though, i dont know if its bug tracker for the only pc's version of scummvm


Thanks, I send the report.
 Reply with quote  
Post Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:55 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
  Display posts from previous:      
Reply to topic

Forum Jump:
 
Goto page Previous  1, 2


Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group
Forum design by ScummVM team, icons by raina
curved edge   curved edge