ScummVM logo Forum Index - ScummVM website - Contact us - Buy Supported Games: GOG.com Rules - Search - Register - Login curved edge
Folder Forum Index > General Discussion > SCI 3 games
SCI 3 games
  Author    Thread Reply to topic
koko200



Joined: 10 May 2017
Posts: 8
SCI 3 games 

Is it possible to be able to finish a SCI 3 game in scummvm?
I've see that rama is fully playable with the nightly build (although I'm only in the beginning of the game).

by the way rama has a playstation version (released only in japan) is it a SCI game like the pc\mac version ?
(The wiki doesn't mention this version but Wikipedia and mobygames say that it exists).

Here are the pictures from the version of rama that I have :




 Reply with quote  
Post Sun May 21, 2017 3:07 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
OmerMor
Got a warning


Joined: 17 Nov 2005
Posts: 141
Location: Israel
 

I have the Japanese PS1 version of RAMA ("Uchuu no Rendezvous - RAMA").

Here's some info about the game: http://psxdatacenter.com/games/J/U/SLPS-00826.html

I have no idea if it's SCI. Is there a tool to view/extract files/resources from PS1 CDs?

edit:
Using an hex editor, there are some strings (e.g. "12.SEQ", "3.RBT") which hints that it uses at least *some* SCI resources.

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun May 21, 2017 8:57 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
koko200



Joined: 10 May 2017
Posts: 8
 

Wow It looks pretty identical to the pc version
(so maybe it does use the sci engine)
but it's in Japanese.

After I beat The pc version of rama I really want to try this version (There's also a Japanese Sega Saturn version of phantasmagoria named phantasm but it doesn't use the sci engine at all).

When running the pc version in scummvm I encountered some weird behavior: when I added rama to the scummvm game menu and I chose The root directory of disc 1
scummvm recognizes the DOS version of rama.

and when I merged The game's 3 cd's into one folder
and selected that folder and added it to scummvm
it recognized the WINDOWS version of rama.

(It should have recognized both versions but maybe I did something wrong in the merging)

I think (But not sure I'll have to test it again)
That the windows version has more glitches and crashes than the dos version of rama when running them in scummvm.

I guess that The SCI 3 engine support is not fully yet
but it's still very impressive to be able to play those games in scummvm (It is possible to run SCI 3 games in dosbox and using a special installer make them run under 64 bit windows natively but scummvm gives a better experience).

 Reply with quote  
Post Sun May 21, 2017 10:26 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
MrPunchy



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 110
 

A question: Does Rama have mt32 sound?

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jun 07, 2017 10:55 am 
 View user's profile Send private message
koko200



Joined: 10 May 2017
Posts: 8
 

No
Because rama does not use MIDI at all
only digital sound effects
and music.

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jun 07, 2017 12:55 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
MrPunchy



Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 110
 

Thank you Smile

 Reply with quote  
Post Wed Jun 07, 2017 1:47 pm 
 View user's profile Send private message
  Display posts from previous:      
Reply to topic

Forum Jump:
 



Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2006 phpBB Group
Forum design by ScummVM team, icons by raina
curved edge   curved edge